Club Rush

Check out all of the clubs and organizations at CLUB RUSH,  held in the Fall and Spring semesters.

Join a Club

Joining a Club is a great way to enrich your academic experience and meet people with similar interests. GWC has clubs of all types that focus on a variety of topics and interests. To join a Club, contact the club advisor, join through a current member, or attend CLUB RUSH.

Starting a New Club

There are five basic steps to start a club at Golden West College:

  1. Pick up a petition in the Office of Student Life and Leadership and obtain the signatures of 10 currently enrolled students
  2. Obtain a faculty or staff advisor
  3. Obtain approval from ICC
  4. Submit a written constitution within 30 days of club approval
  5. Abide by the “Clubs and Organizations Minimum Standards” set by the Office of Student Life and Leadership

New clubs are being developed each semester and advisors are always needed. For more information contact the Office of Student Life and Leadership at (714) 895-8261.

Inter-Club Council

Student clubs and organizations are governed by the Inter-Club Council (ICC). ICC assists clubs in fundraising and publicity and is responsible for coordinating and promoting club events on a cooperative basis. The ASGWC Club Consultant chairs this Council. Faculty and staff members are encouraged to support student sponsored clubs and events in any way they can. All club members have a voice through the ICC.

The bi-monthly meetings are held on the 2nd and 4th Tuesday of each month, from 1-2 p.m. in LRC room 250. The ICC provides an effective, organized, and fair policy so all clubs will thrive. Each semester, ICC co-sponsors with the ASGWC a Club Information Day, which gives interested students an opportunity to learn about various clubs on campus and allows clubs to promote themselves. Please call (714) 892-7711 and enter the extension of the advisor listed under the club name.

Join a Club

Joining a Club is a great way to enrich your academic experience and meet people with similar interests. GWC has clubs of all types that focus on a variety of topics and interests. To join a Club, contact the club advisor, join through a current member, or attend CLUB RUSH.

Starting a New Club

There are five basic steps to start a club at Golden West College:

  1. Pick up a petition in the Office of Student Life and Leadership and obtain the signatures of 10 currently enrolled students
  2. Obtain a faculty or staff advisor
  3. Obtain approval from ICC
  4. Submit a written constitution within 30 days of club approval
  5. Abide by the “Clubs and Organizations Minimum Standards” set by the Office of Student Life and Leadership

New clubs are being developed each semester and advisors are always needed. For more information contact the Office of Student Life and Leadership at (714) 895-8261.

Inter-Club Council

Student clubs and organizations are governed by the Inter-Club Council (ICC). ICC assists clubs in fundraising and publicity and is responsible for coordinating and promoting club events on a cooperative basis. The ASGWC Club Consultant chairs this Council. Faculty and staff members are encouraged to support student sponsored clubs and events in any way they can. All club members have a voice through the ICC.

The bi-monthly meetings are held on the 2nd and 4th Tuesday of each month, from 1-2 p.m. in LRC room 250. The ICC provides an effective, organized, and fair policy so all clubs will thrive. Each semester, ICC co-sponsors with the ASGWC a Club Information Day, which gives interested students an opportunity to learn about various clubs on campus and allows clubs to promote themselves. Please call (714) 892-7711 and enter the extension of the advisor listed under the club name.

CLUBS at GWC

Alliance for Cultural Advancement – The purpose of the organization shall be to foster an in-depth and multicultural approach and understanding to contemporary and historical topics that include issues of race, class, or gender. The ACA seeks to promote consciousness and social justice employing discussion, debate, respect, and unity. The ACA also will magnify multiple cultures and traditions for the purpose of learning, respecting, and understanding each other; for the development of modern, cultured, and conscious community. Advisors: Dr. Giovanni Hortua ghortua@gwc.cccd.edu.

Alpha Gamma Sigma (Honor Society) Sigma Pi Chapter – This is the California community college academic honor society. Membership requires a current and cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or better. Dues are $15 each semester. AGS promotes scholarship and leadership skills and provides opportunities for service to the campus and local organizations. All members receive special recognition at the GWC graduation ceremony. Advisors: Valerie Venegas at ext. 55117 or vvenegas@gwc.cccd.edu and
Jan Davis at ext. 52965 or jdavis@gwc.cccd.edu.

California Nursing Student Association (CNSA) –The purpose of this organization is to foster nursing education, facilitate early unity among our future colleagues in nursing, and to optimize the nursing student’s exposure to the numerous specialties and pathways in the ever-changing field of nursing.  Advisor: Deborah Goldstick at ext. 51234 or dgoldstick@gwc.cccd.edu

Circle K Club – Circle K International is college and university students who are responsible citizens and leaders with a lifelong commitment to community service worldwide. Advisors: Stephanie Bridges sbridges@gwc.cccd.edu, Diep Phan dipham@gwc.cccd.edu, Julie Powers jpowers@gwc.cccd.edu, and Michelle Neal mneal@gwc.cccd.edu.

Christian Club – This purpose of this club is to provide a place where students can find love and fulfillment in their lives by getting to know or deepening their relationship with Jesus Christ through the study of the Bible, the use of other Christian resources and spending time with other Christians. So that love may be shared with other students on campus, that they may know that “..God did not send His Son into the world to condemn the world, but that the world through Him might be saved.” John 3:17.
All students and questions are welcome. Advisor: Bud Benneman at ext. 52488 or bbenneman@gwc.cccd.edu.

Computer Science Club – This club enables students to discuss and review current issues related to operating systems, software development, cyber security, networking, databases, and mobile computing. Students have an opportunity to implement and test software solutions beyond topics covered by the curriculum under the supervision of the faculty advisor. Also, under the guidance of the Office of Student Life and Leadership, students can participate in campus-wide activities. Advisor: Christian Racataian at cractaian@gwc.cccd.edu.

Cosmetology Club – The purpose of this club is to enhance our members’ education, professional ethics, social skills, and personal development through their involvement in club activities. Advisors: Jon Holland at ext. 58115 or jholland@gwc.cccd.edu and Evangelina Rosales at ext. 58182 or 51031 or erosales@gwc.cccd.edu.

Cosplay Club – The purpose of this club is to provide a safe environment and foster the Cosplay sub-culture. Students will participate in local events to promote both the campus and the club. Advisor: Deborah Birnie at dbirnie@gwc.cccd.edu.

Entrepreneurship Club – The GWC Student Entrepreneurship Club will enable students to discuss, network, and explore aspects of starting and managing a business. Club activities will include leading or participating in entrepreneurship activities on campus, meeting with community entrepreneurs and small business resources/advisors, and take entrepreneurship education field trips. Advisor: Bern Baumgartner bbaumgartner@gwc.cccd.edu.

Environmental Sustainability Association – The purpose of this association is to foster multi-disciplinary understandings of sustainability across the GWC campus in support of sound practices, projects, and educational activities. Advisor: Bud Benneman at ext. 52488 or bbenneman@gwc.cccd.edu.

EOPS/CARE/Guardian Scholars Club – The purpose of this club is to provide a support system for students, promote cultural awareness through student involvement, give back to the campus and community, and create a positive experience for new and returning students. Advisors: Michelle Sambrano at ext. 51161 or msambrano@gwc.cccd.edu and Lorena Perez, lperez89@gwc.cccd.edu

Ethics Bowl Club – The purpose of the club is to have an open forum to further enhance communication skills through the art of debate with a focus on ethical issues and competing in intercollegiate debate competitions. Advisor: Noah Levin at ext. 51062 or nlevin@gwc.cccd.edu.

Future Teachers of America – The purpose of this club is to provide students who are interested in becoming teachers at any level a place to network and share ideas with other professionals associated with the educational field. Some activities this club engages in are social networking events, educational field trips, and volunteering in our community. Advisor: Bridget Gergens at bgergens@gwc.cccd.edu.

Gay Lesbian Alternative Straight Alliance (GLASA) – The purpose of this club is to raise awareness of the rights of the LGBTQ community and to promote a safe environment for greater understanding of theLGBTQ community. Advisor: Lindsay McNutt at ext. 58947 or lmcnutt1@gwc.cccd.edu or Christina Oja at ext. 58101 or coja@gwc.cccd.edu

Health and Nutrition for the Next Generation Club – To help educate people on health and nutrition with new up to date information and teaching people on varies topics on how to live a good, healthy lifestyle discussing topics on weight management, food, supplements, medicine, and nutrient. Advisor: Nicole Diamond ndiamond@gwc.cccd.edu

History Club – This club provides a forum for History majors and buffs to share their appreciation and understanding of the human past and debate its implications for the present. Club members organize to attend museum exhibits, historical reenactments, trivia games, Renaissance fairs, and other fun activities. The club also provides access to monthly historical publications, degree/transfer information, and research/career opportunities to students interested in furthering their study in the field of History. Advisor: Sunshine McClain at ext. 51048 or smcclain@gwc.cccd.edu.

International Club – The purpose of this club is to provide an established organization in conjunction with the International Student Program that offers a community of support to international and resident students. Club members plan activities to familiarize themselves with the culture of the U.S. and share with the GWC campus the different cultures that students represent for better awareness and mutual understanding. Advisor: Mirna Bitar mbitar1@gwc.cccd.edu or isp@gwc.cccd.edu

Internet Radio & TV Club – G-DUB Internet Radio and Television Club provide students with the opportunity to receive hands on training in producing Internet radio and television programs. Club members serve as DJ’s, sports play by play and color announcers and audio engineers. G-Dub Internet Radio is a 24 hour, 7 day a week automated streaming web based radio station. G-DUB Radio streams from www.gdubradio.com . Members of the Internet Radio and Television club receive hands on training in all phases of planning and producing Internet radio and television programs, including: On air announcing, Preparing on air copy, Audio post production, Remote webcasts. G-DUB Radio plays a diverse mix of music that compliments the diverse Golden West College student body. In addition to recorded music G-DUB Radio programming includes: Live Golden West College home and away athletic events, Local news and public affairs, Live webcasts of local bands and performers. It’s not just internet radio…. It’s G-DUB Internet Radio, contact advisor Warren Carter ext. 58798 or wcarter@gwc.cccd.edu.

Mi Casa: Immigrants Rising – The purpose of this club is to foster and promote the academic and personal success of ethnically diverse students. The club encourages student advocacy, personal support, and transition beyond community college. Advisors: Americo Lopez-Rodriguez ext. 51153 or alopez-rodriguez@gwc.cccd.edu and Vanessa Bonilla ext. 52076 or vbonilla@gwc.cccd.edu

Muslim Student Association – The Muslim Student Association will serve to unite Muslim as well as non-Muslim students of various backgrounds through the virtues of brother/sisterhood. The club hopes to increase knowledge and awareness of Islam through community service, interfaith dialogue, and group discussions. Advisor: Abraham Tarango atarango@gwc.cccd.edu.

N.E.R.D. (Nitor Edoceo Reapse Discipulus) Club – This is an association for science students. Advisors: Travis Vail ext. 51117 or tvail@gwc.cccd.edu, Bud Benneman ext. 52488 or bbenneman@gwc.cccd.edu, and Annamaria Crescimanno ext. 51064 or acrescimanno@gwc.cccd.edu.

Peace and Leadership Club – The purpose of this club is to build a culture of peace; to create peace within ourselves, our community, our country, and our world. Advisor: Farzane Farazdaghi at ext. 52576 or ffarazdaghi@gwc.cccd.edu.

Pre-Med Club – To provide information, encouragement, and a supportive environment for pre-med students to continue perusing medicine. Advisor: TBD.

PUENTE Club – The purpose of this club is to provide academic support, social activities, and community service opportunities to all students. Advisor: Nancy Fong at ext. 52409 or nfong@gwc.cccd.edu.

Students for Bernie Sanders Club – Campaigning, raising awareness of all 2016 presidential candidates and political events. Advisor: Sasha Montero at (714) 425-6737 or smontero@gwc.cccd.edu.

Student Veterans Organization – The purpose of this club is to assist in Veterans’ transition from military to student life. Advisor: Michael Carrizo at ext. 58143 or mcarrizo@gwc.cccd.edu.

Tennis Club – The purpose of this club is to provide a place for people to play tennis and meet people with a common interest. Tennis is a lifetime sport and can assist in living a healthy lifestyle. The club provides a chance to meet new people, offers competitive play, is a great workout, is endless fun, offers help to sharpen your skills and to learn new ones, and can accommodate all levels of players. Advisor: Bill Lawler at wlawler@gwc.cccd.edu, and Karen Dickerson ext. 52357 or kdickerson@gwc.cccd.edu

The Writers Bloc – The purpose of this club is to appreciate, understand, and develop the craft of writing. The club’s goal is to provide a student publication to recognize excellent creative expression. Advisor: Mifanwy Kaiser at 53027 or mkaiser@gwc.cccd.edu.

Vietnamese Catholic Student Association – the purpose of this Association is to establish and develop leadership skills as well as to raise awareness of social responsibilities and charitable services to encourage students to be engaged and involved in the community and to live a catholic faith. Advisor: Julie Nguyen at unguyen@gwc.cccd.edu