Physical Science Department
Physical Science
Physical Science Home

Physical Science Courses
Chemistry Courses
Physics Courses
Geology Courses
Astronomy Courses

Department Contacts

For more information about the Physical Science Department contact:

Phone: (714) 895-8990
Email: mwallace@gwc.cccd.edu

join Our Email List

The Western Sun - The Newspaper of Golden West College

Associate Degree for Transfer
Associate Degree for Transfer

Salary Surfer
Salary Surfer

For Rent Textbooks - Save 50% or More on Textbooks

Search jobs posted at our school!

Free Newsletter - Student Health 101

Welcome to the Physical Science Department @ GWC

The Physical Science program offers courses for students for transfer to the four-year institutions. These include courses for science-related majors and general education science requirements for non-science majors.  The Chemistry, Physics and Geology departments offer courses for majors, as well as those for non-majors.  The Astronomy and Physical Science courses are for non-science majors.  There are laboratory stockrooms to service the geology laboratory, the two physics laboratory rooms and the three chemistry laboratory rooms.  The chemistry stockroom has a full-time supervisor. Courses are generally small enough for faculty members to get to know students well and offer individualized assistance. Lecture and laboratory sections are taught by full-time or part-time faculty members with masters or doctoral degrees in their fields.

Physcial Science

Physical Science Faculty, Staff and Students at the 2012 Counselors Breakfast

The Physical Science faculty have been involved in a number of activities that benefit the community.  Science Showtime is held in the fall in conjunction with the Huntington Beach Rotary Club. Hands-on Science and Technology activities are available for elementary and middle school students to participate in. Members of the chemistry faculty also participate in National Chemistry Week events for the general public each October. The department is also host to the Orange County Regional Science Olympiad, a yearly science competition between Orange County middle and high schools.

Highlights:

Dr. Teresa Speakman [chair]  714- 892-7711 ext 52485 Math/Science 201  tspeakman@gwc.cccd.edu
Dr. Konrad Stein 714- 892-7711 ext 51115  Technology 109 kstein@gwc.cccd.edu
Dr. Katherine Green 714- 892-7711 ext 52660  Math/Science 201  kgreen@gwc.cccd.edu
Dr. James Almy 714- 892-7711 ext 52150    Math/Science 203 jalmy@gwc.cccd.edu
Jennifer Wilcox 714- 892-7711 ext 51118  Math/Science 203 jwilcox@gwc.cccd.edu
Joan Deniken [stockroom manager] 714- 892-7711 ext. 52115 Math/Science 203 jdeniken@gwc.cccd.edu

Chemistry Lab Photo Gallery