The Public Safety Office is located in the Health Science Building at the west end of campus, next to Math Science and Humanities. Office hours are 8:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. Monday through Thursday and 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. on Friday. (714) 895-8924
Golden West College is a pay to park site, all vehicles utilizing parking lots are required to display a valid permit at all times. Permits may be purchased per semester online or by day from the dispensers located in each lot. Citations are issued for violations of the campus parking rules and regulations. All citation appeals are referred to the College Parking Adjudication Committee via an appeal website.
Compliance with Traffic Laws
The provisions of the California Vehicle Code have full force and effect on the Golden West College campus and any person driving a motor vehicle thereon is expected to comply fully with these provisions.
Coast Community College District
Chapter 4 – Business Operations
BP 6752 Parking & Traffic Rules & Regulations
Golden West College and Orange Coast College
By authority of California Vehicle Code Section 21113, the following parking and traffic rules and regulations have been adopted to facilitate vehicular movement and parking and provide for the safety of all persons using the community college campus.
These parking and traffic rules and regulations will be in effect 24 hours a day.
ARTICLE I. ENFORCEMENT
Authorization is granted to the college Public Safety Department to issue parking citations within the confines of the campus. Citations will be issued for violation of the parking Rules and Regulations as outlined below. Automatic penalties will be assessed on all fines not paid prior to the specified due date. All authorized permit parking areas will be enforced Monday through Thursday 7:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. and Friday 7:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
ARTICLE II. GENERAL TRAFFIC REGULATIONS
201 – No person shall fail to obey any sign erected or maintained regarding these regulations.
202 – The driver of a vehicle shall yield the right-of-way to pedestrians.
203 – No driver approaching the rear of a vehicle which is yielding the right-of-way to a pedestrian shall overtake or pass that vehicle.
204 – No person shall drive any vehicle in willful, wanton, or reckless disregard for safety of persons or property.
205 – No person shall drive or ride a motor-driven scooter or motorcycle on any campus walkway.
206 – No person shall ride skateboards, roller skate, or roller blade within the confines of the campus.
207 – No person shall operate a motor vehicle on any sidewalk, unpaved pathway, field, or any lawn or landscaped area, except for emergency or maintenance vehicles.
208 – No person shall sleep in or remain overnight in any vehicle on campus. No vehicle shall be parked overnight on campus (midnight to 6:00 a.m.) without permission from Campus Safety.
209 – No person shall drive a motor vehicle into a campus parking area except by using roadways and drive lanes.All vehicles must travel only in the direction indicated by traffic signs or marking on the roadway.
210 – No person shall park any vehicle of any kind containing merchandise or food offered for sale on campus without the written permission of the President or his delegate.
ARTICLE III. SPEED REGULATIONS
301 – No person shall operate a motor vehicle or bicycle within the confines of the campus parking lots at a speed greater than 15 miles per hour, or as posted, except for emergency vehicles. The maximum speed limit on the interior of the campus is 5 miles per hour. Radar may be used on the campus to enforce posted speed limits.
302 – No person shall operate a motor vehicle, motorized cycle, or bicycle at a speed or in a manner that disregards the safety of persons or property.
ARTICLE IV. PARKING REGULATIONS & RECOMMENDED BAIL
208 – No person shall sleep in or remain overnight in any vehicle on campus. No vehicle shall be parked overnight on campus (midnight to 6:00 a.m.) without permission from Campus Safety. $27.00
401 – No parking is allowed in any area that does not have a clearly marked stall, except designated dirt lots. $27.00
402 – Vehicles parking within a stall shall not overlap the lines that designate the stall. $27.00
403 – No persons shall park or leave standing a vehicle on any walkway, landscaped area, driveway, road or field without prior approval of the Public Safety Department. $27.00
404 – No person shall park or leave standing a vehicle not a motorcycle or moped in an area designated for motorcycles only. $27.00
405 – No vehicle shall be parked backwards in diagonal parking stalls. $27.00
406 – No person shall park or leave standing a motor vehicle blocking traffic lanes on any campus roadway or parking lot. $37.00
407 – When signs or marking (such as red curbs) prohibiting and/or limiting parking are erected or placed upon any street, road, or area, no person shall park or leave standing any vehicle upon such street, road, or area in violation of any such sign or marking. $27.00 Red Zone $37.00
409 – No person shall park in any area marked in blue and identified as "Handicapped Parking" unless a handicapped placard/license plate issued by DMV is displayed on the vehicle. $250.00
410 – No person shall park in an area posted or marked "Staff Parking" unless a valid staff parking permit is properly displayed. $27.00
411 – No person shall park any vehicle in any fashion so as to create a traffic hazard. $27.00
412 – No person shall park on campus in a designated permit area without a current, valid parking permit properly displayed e
413 – Vehicles parking in metered stalls must pay for use of the stall as indicated on the meter. Display of a campus parking permit does not preclude payment of meter fees. $27.00
ARTICLE V. ABANDONED VEHICLES
501 – No person shall abandon or leave standing any vehicle or motorized cycle on the campus in excess of 96 hours. All such vehicles will be stored under authority of Section 2265 8 (a) of the California Vehicle Code.
502 – Any person who abandons a vehicle or motorized cycle on campus or violates campus regulations that require towing of such vehicle will be responsible for payment of all towing and storage charges.
ARTICLE VI. FIELD TRIPS
All persons who participate in a field study program or field trip must complete a special permit stating the length of time the vehicle will be left on campus and when the vehicle will be removed. It is the responsibility of all field study program advisors/instructors to obtain the special Overnight Parking permit forms from Campus Public Safety. Vehicles left over night shall park in an authorized parking lot.
ARTICLE VII. REPEAT OFFENDERS/SANCTIONS
1. Violation of any of these regulations is cause for a citation to be issued.
2. Repeated, habitual, aggravated violations, or failure to pay fines may cause the vehicle to be immobilized or stored at the expense of the vehicle owner.
3. Coast Community College District and its employees shall not be held liable for loss or damage of any kind resulting from such immobilization or storage.
4. Students who fail to pay parking fines may have their academic records encumbered until all outstanding fines have been paid. Penalties may be added to each citation. The DMV and a collection agency may be notified.
5. Lack of familiarity with these regulations DOES NOT constitute a defense for failure to comply with them.
6. The responsibility for finding a LEGAL parking space rests with the motor vehicle operator. LACK OF SPACE IS NOT A VALID REASON FOR VIOLATING THESE REGULATIONS.
ARTICLE VIII. PARKING PERMITS
All parking permits will be issued under the authority of the administrative staff of the campus. A valid parking permit must be VISIBLY displayed on any vehicle parked in any lot on the campus during posted hours: Monday through Thursday, 7:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m.; Friday, 7:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
These rules and regulations were adopted January 14, 1987,Revised May 17, 1988, Revised April 4, 1990, Revised October 15, 1991, Revised February 17, 1999, Revised September 30, 2009, Replaces CCCD Policy 040-13-5, Spring 2011.
Golden West College Regulations
VEHICLES WITHOUT PERMITS PROPERLY DISPLAYED WILL BE CITED. The purchase of a parking permit does not guarantee a parking space on campus. General public and community members may also purchase semester permits online.
For permit placement see Article IV Section 412 above.
Designated parking areas are color coded:
Vehicles authorized to park on the Golden West College property shall park only in areas that have been painted with stripes indicating parking stalls. Parking in any other area is not permitted, including cross hatch, red zones, or curbs, and will result in the vehicle being cited. Park only in the area designated by your permit. Designated parking areas are color coded:
BLUE – Disabled zones – Valid DMV registration required
GREEN – Load/Unload 20 minutes only – No permit necessary
WHITE GRID – Motorcycle/mopeds only – Semester, staff, or daily permit required
WHITE STALL – Open for permit parking – Valid permit must be visibly displayed
YELLOW – Faculty and Staff – Staff permit required
DIRT LOTS – Semester, staff, or daily permit required
Daily parking permits can be obtained from the yellow permit dispensers located in each parking lot. They are not valid in STAFF or METERED STALLS and must be properly and visibly displayed face up on the dashboard.
Temporary Parking Permits
Temporary permits are available from the Public Safety Department for students/staff who forget their parking permit for ONE DAY only. A valid picture ID is required.
Replacement of Permits
Parking permits are personal property and cannot be replaced if lost or stolen. The individual must either purchase a new semester permit or a daily parking permit. A replacement will be issued for mutilated permits upon surrender of the mutilated permit.
Designated stalls for disabled persons are available only to those properly displaying a disabled placard or license plate issued through DMV. No additional permit or fee is required for parking when a valid placard/plate is displayed. Failure to display a valid placard in a designated disabled space will result in a citation ($250.00). Placard holders are required to carry DMV issued paperwork. The use
of another's placard is a violation of the California Vehicle Code. Violators will be fined ($250.00) and the placard will be confiscated.
Motorcycle / Moped As A Second Vehicle
Students owning a vehicle and a motor cycle can obtain an additional permit for $15.00. Only one additional permit will be issued. Current registration for both vehicles must be provided.
The Coast Community College District and its employees assume no liability for damage to or theft of any vehicle or its contents, nor for any bicycle or any other article of personal property while on campus. Users of campus parking lots do so at their own risk.