Scholarships for GWC Students

Workshops & Advising


Workshops are held in the Career Center, located on 2nd floor of Student Services Center. Scholarship Office staff will assist in completing GWC Scholarship applications and will guide you through the GWC Scholarship website and outside scholarship opportunities as well. No reservations are necessary.

Workshop Dates and Advising for Spring 2020 – We’ll assist you with your application!!

Tuesday, January 21 – 10:00 am – 11:00 am
Thursday, January 23 – 3:00 pm – 4:00 pm
Tuesday, January 28 – 3:00 pm – 4:00 pm
Thursday, January 30 – 10:00 am – 11:00 am
Monday, February 3 – 12:00 pm – 1:00 pm
Tuesday, February 4 – 10:00 am – 11:00 am
Wednesday, February 5 – 4:00 pm – 5:00 pm
Thursday, February 6 – 4:00 pm – 5:00 pm
Friday, February 7 – 10:00 am – 11:00 am
Monday, February 10 – 12:00 pm – 1:00 pm
Tuesday, February 11 – 10:00 am – 11:00 am
Wednesday, February 12 – 4:00 pm – 5:00 pm
Thursday, February 13 – 4:00 pm – 5:00 pm
Tuesday, February 18 – 10:00 am – 12:00 pm
Thursday, February 20 – 10:00 am – 12:00 pm
Friday, February 21 – 10:00 am – 11:00 pm
Monday, February 24 – 12:00 pm – 2:00 pm
Tuesday, February 25 – 10:00 am – 11:00 am, 3:00 pm – 4:00 pm
Thursday, February 27 – 10:00 am – 11:00 am, 3:00 pm – 4:00 pm
Friday, February 28 – 9:00 am – 10:00 am, 3:00 pm – 5:00 pm
Monday, March 2 – 9:00 am – 11:00 am, 3:00 pm – 5:00 pm

All Online Applications will need a well-written PERSONAL STATEMENT no more than one-page, 500 words using 12 pt. font. Your personal statement is an important consideration during the selection process. Your statement should explain why you have chosen to attend college and what your future educational or career plans, personal goals, life history, significant obstacles you have overcome, personal and financial needs that are unique to you, and any special circumstances that have had a significant impact on your academic performance. This helps the reviewer know you better. Emphasize events that have negatively or positively affected your cumulative grade point average.

When submitting any documents for the online scholarship they MUST BE in PDF format or Word. If you need assistance please attend a Scholarship Workshop or go to the Learning Resource Center for assistance.

The following documents may be helpful when writing your scholarship essay.
FastWeb Tips on Writing a Scholarship Essay
http://www.fastweb.com/nfs/fastweb/static/PDFs/12Tips_to_WinningaScholarship.pdf

Writing a Personal Statement PDF Format
by Chuck Whitchurch, Honors Transfer Council of California

http://htcca.org/wp-content/uploads/2013/06/PersonalStatementHTCC-2.pdf