group therapy

PSYCHOLOGY

The Psychology Transfer major covers the contemporary perspectives on understanding human behavior: biological, psychodynamic, learning-based, humanistic, cognitive, and sociocultural, as well as the effects of nature verses nurture on behavior and abilities. Students learn how to analyze the various methods used to study behavior, including the naturalistic observation method, the correlational method, the experimental method, kinship studies, the epidemiological method, and the case-study method. Students choosing this major will gain an understanding of the definition of normal vs. abnormal behavior, as well as describe the different types of mental health professionals and the basic features of psychotherapy and drug therapies.

Apply now at GWC!
Social Sciences, Communications, World Languages Division

Dr. Alex Miranda, Dean

For more information contact:
Lindsay McNutt
Division Coordinator
lmcnutt@gwc.cccd.edu
714-895-8384

The Associate in Arts Degree for Transfer (AA-T) in Psychology will transfer to the following California State Universities:

CSU Bakersfield
CSU Channel Islands
CSU Chino
CSU Dominguez Hills
CSU East Bay
CSU Fresno
CSU Fullerton
CSU Humbolt
CSU Long Beach
CSU Los Angeles
CSU Monterey Bay
CSU Northridge
CSU Pomona
CSU Sacramento
CSU San Bernadino
CSU San Diego
CSU San Francisco
CSU San Jose
CSU San Marcos
CSU Sonoma
CSU Stanislaus

The list of CSU campuses for this major was provided by the California State University’s A Degree with a Guarantee website: http://adegreewithaguarantee.com/

Most of the courses in this program also transfer to the University of California (UC) System and Private Universities. Please see your GWC Counselor early in your studies to choose the transfer option that is right for you.

The following is a partial list of occupations available to Psychology Majors:

  • Advertising Manager
  • Educator
  • Employee Assistance Administrator
  • Guidance Counselor
  • Employment Counselor
  • Industrial Psychologist
  • Human Resource Manager
  • Market Research Analyst
  • Job Analyst
  • Minister
  • Mental Health Worker
  • Outplacement Specialist
  • Occupational Therapist
  • Police Officer
  • Penologist
  • Psychiatric Nurse
  • Probation Officer
  • Psychiatrist
  • Psychiatric Social Worker
  • Psychometrist
  • Psychologist
  • Speech Pathologist
  • Public Relations Specialist
  • Vocational Rehabilitation Counselor

FULL-TIME FACULTY

Jodie Butler, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Psychology

B.A., M.A., Ph.D., Northern Illinois University

jbutler41@gwc.cccd.edu

(714) 892-7711 x51022

Office: ADMIN 213


Department Chair: Laura L. Duvall, Psy.D.

Professor, Psychology

B.A., University of California, Santa Barbara; M.A., California State University, Northridge; Psy.D., California Southern University

lduvall1@gwc.cccd.edu

(714) 892-7711 x51073

Office: ADMIN 212


Steven A. Isonio, Ph.D.

Professor, Psychology

B.A., M.A., California State University, Fresno; Ph.D., University of California, Riverside

sisonio@gwc.cccd.edu

(714) 892-7711 x55033

Office: ADMIN 225


Amy B. Jennings, Ed.D.

Instructor, Psychology

B.A., M.A, Ed.D., California State University, Long Beach

ajennings13@gwc.cccd.edu

(714) 892-7711 x51092

Office: ADMIN 212


Wendy Parslow-Helton, M.A.

Instructor, Psychology

B.A. California State University, Fullerton, M.A. Pepperdine University

wparslowhelton@gwc.cccd.edu

(714) 892-7711

Office: ADMIN 213


PART-TIME FACULTY

• Cassandra Agnew – caagnew@gwc.cccd.edu

• Karen Beck – kbeck4@cccd.edu

• Ashley Berry – aberry13@gwc.cccd.edu

• Mark Combs – mcombs5@gwc.cccd.edu

• Gary Germo – ggermo@gwc.cccd.edu

• Jennifer Hall – jhall62@gwc.cccd.edu

• Jan Mendoza – jmendoza@gwc.cccd.edu

• Nazneen Nizami – nnizami@gwc.cccd.edu

• Carlos Sandoval – csandoval26@cccd.edu